Monasteries and Churches

The Church of the Saints of the First-Ever Apostles Peter and Paul

ATTENTION! Due to the current epidemiological situation changes in the work schedule are possible! Please make sure to check the operating hours of the objects by contacting them in advance!
  • Description
    Add to tour

    The Church of the Holy Preeminent Apostles Peter and Paul is interesting in all respects. Its history, parishioners, and architecture will make this Church stand out from the general list!

    The wooden Church of Peter and Paul, which was built here more than four hundred years ago, was located outside the city at that time. Time passed, Tula flourished, the wooden Church became made of stone, and one of the multi-story blocks of the city rose around it. Today this place invites both parishioners and guests of Tula.

    The stone Church of the Holy Preeminent Apostles Peter and Paul was built here (at 28 Lenin Str.) as long ago as in 1736 and all the time until the very revolution it got changed and rebuilt becoming more and more beautiful. One of the archpriests who had actively participated in the construction of the temple, Ivan Mikhailovich Smirnov, was buried in the floor of the Church, according to ancient Orthodox traditions. His tombstone with inscriptions from Mosolov cast-iron has been preserved to this day.

    Parishioners of the Church, including the famous writer Vikenty Vikentyevich Veresaev, made significant donations. Thanks to them, during the XIX century, the Church acquired a high brick bell tower with a clock, an almshouse, and an iconostasis with columns. The Church expanded acquiring the appearance we may enjoy today!

    During the Soviet era, the Church of Peter and Paul was used as a warehouse for a pharmacy at this address. Even though the Church building was restored in the 70s, the appearance of the temple was quite repulsive. Only in 2011, it was handed over to the believers who started restoring it to all its former glory.

    But what is so unusual about this Church in terms of architecture?

    The fact that the Church of the Holy Preeminent Apostles Peter and Paul is built in the form of a rotunda, i.e. a cylinder. Above the lower tier, the same drum of the dome rises, and the dome itself has a beautiful, even shape of a hemisphere. Such architectural solutions cannot be found elsewhere in the Tula region!

    Today, the renovated Church and the surrounding area, standing out against the background of the urban landscape of nine-story buildings, seems a truly unearthly place!

    Its interior and exterior beauty are created for spiritual recreation and taking memorable pictures about this place!

  • Media
    Photo Gallery
    2 pictures
  • Prices
  • Contacts
    28 Lenin St., Tula
    8 (4872) 56-95-71
  • Reviews
    User ratings
    5
    (0)
    4
    (0)
    3
    (0)
    2
    (0)
    1
    (0)
    Your rating
28 Lenin St., Tula
8 (4872) 56-95-71
events

Interesting locations nearby

All places
Select the place you want to visit
Restaurants
Entertainment
Accommodation
Book a room
Do you have a question?

info@visittula.com 8 (800) 301-71-71
Свяжитесь с нами
туристический портал тульской области
Ru / Eng
Монастыри и храмы

Петра и Павла храм в Туле

ВНИМАНИЕ! В связи со сложившейся эпидемиологической ситуацией возможны изменения в режиме работы! Просьба заблаговременно уточнять по указанным контактным телефонам о возможности посещения объектов показа!
  • Описание
    Добавить в маршрут

    Храм святых апостолов Петра и Павла интересен во всех отношениях. И история его, и прихожане, и архитектура выделят эту церковь из общего ряда!

    Выстроенный здесь более четырёхсот лет назад, деревянный храм Петра и Павла в те времена находился за чертой города. Время шло, Тула разрасталась, деревянная церковь стала каменной, а вокруг поднимался один из многоэтажных кварталов города. Сегодня это место приглашает как прихожан, так и гостей Тулы.

    Каменный храм святых апостолов Петра и Павла был выстроен здесь (по адресу: улица Ленина, 28) ещё в 1736 году и всё время до самой революции менялся, рос и перестраивался, делаясь всё краше и больше. В полу церкви был захоронен, по старинным православным традициям, один из протоиереев, активно участвовавших в возведении храма – Иван Михайлович Смирнов. Его надгробная плита из Мосоловского чугуна сохранилась с надписями до наших дней.

    Прихожане храма, среди которых был и известный писатель Викентий Викентьевич Вересаев, делали значительные пожертвования. Благодаря им, в течение XIX века, церковь обрела высокую кирпичную колокольню с часами, богадельню, иконостас с колоннами. Храм расширялся, приобретая вид, который мы можем видеть сегодня!

    Во времена советской власти храм Петра и Павла использовался в качестве склада для аптеки по этому адресу. Даже несмотря на то, что в 70-е годы здание церкви было отреставрировано, вид храм имел достаточно отталкивающий. Только в 2011 году его передали верующим и начали восстанавливать во всём его былом величии.

    Но чем же так необычна эта церковь в плане архитектуры?

    А тем, что храм святых апостолов Петра и Павла построен в форме ротонды, т.е. цилиндра. Над нижним ярусом возвышается такой же барабан купола, а сам купол имеет красивую, ровную форму полусферы. Подобные архитектурные решения не встречаются нигде в Тульском регионе!

    Сегодня обновлённый храм и прилегающая к нему территория, выделяясь на фоне городского пейзажа девятиэтажек, кажется поистине неземным местом!

    Внутреннее убранство, внешняя красота его созданы для духовного отдыха и создания памятных фото об этом месте!

  • Медиа
    Фотогалерея
    2 изображения
  • Цена
  • Контакты
    г. Тула, ул. Ленина, 28
    8 (4872) 56-95-71
  • Отзывы
    Рейтинг пользователей
    5
    (0)
    4
    (0)
    3
    (0)
    2
    (0)
    1
    (0)
    Ваша оценка
г. Тула, ул. Ленина, 28
8 (4872) 56-95-71
0 событий

Интересные места рядом

Ко всем местам
Места
Рестораны
Развлечения
Размещение
Забронировать жилье
Есть вопрос?