Parks and Squares

Kazanskaya Embankment

Tula, Kazanskaya Embankment
Share via:
Add to tour
  • Description

    A long time ago the Upa River flowed with its tributaries – the Tulitsa and the Old Tulitsa along the northern walls of the Kremlin. In 1712 following a decree by Peter I the construction of Tula Arms Plant began, so it was decided to expand the riverbed of the Old Tulitsa to provide the plant with water. The riverbed became so wide: many that people often confused the new-formed channel with the riverbed of the Upa River.

    Thus an embankment appeared in the territory between the walls of the Kremlin and the new channel. It was called Kazanskaya Embankment because there was the church of the Kazan Icon of the Mother of God nearby which replaced the old Kazan church badly damaged in the fire of 1834.

    The Kremlin garden built in 1837 became the so-called extension of the embankment. However, in the years after the October Revolution, the garden and the embankment became neglected. In 1929, the Kazan church was dismantled and the embankment completely turned from a beautiful place for unhurried walks into a wasteland. After some time the territory completely departed to Tula Arms Plant which was located on the opposite bank of the channel.

    The situation remained unchanged until 2017 when the embankment was transferred back to the city.

    Now various concerts and competitions regularly take place on the square near the Kremlin wall. In the warm season one may take a ride on a stylish boat through the cleared channel, observe beautiful swans settled nearby or fish while sitting on the lawn.

  • Contacts
    Tula, Kazanskaya Embankment
0 events

Interesting locations nearby

You may want to visit these places later

All places
Book a room
Do you have a question?

info@visittula.com 8 (800) 301-71-71
Свяжитесь с нами
туристический портал тульской области
Парки и скверы

Казанская набережная

г. Тула, Казанская набережная
Поделиться с друзьями:
Добавить в маршрут
  • Описание

    Когда-то давно вдоль северных стен Кремля протекала Упа со своими притоками – Тулицей и Старой Тулицей. Когда по указу Петра I в городе начали возводить оружейный завод в 1712-1714 гг., было принято решение расширить русло Старой Тулицы, чтобы обеспечить завод водой. Русло стало не только шире – образовавшийся в ходе работ канал многие часто путают за русло самой Упы.

    На территории между стенами Кремля и новым каналом появилась набережная, которая получила название Казанской, т.к. рядом находился храм Казанской иконы Божьей Матери, который пришел на смену старой Казанской церкви, сильно пострадавшей при пожаре 1834 г.

    Кремлевский сад, разбитый в 1837 году, выступил своеобразным продолжением набережной. Однако в годы после Октябрьской революции сад и набережная пришли в запустение. В 1929 году разобрали Казанский храм, и набережная из красивого места для неспешных прогулок полностью превратилась в пустырь. А спустя некоторое время территория и вовсе отошла Тульскому оружейному заводу, который находился на противоположном берегу канала.

    Так и было вплоть до 2017 года, пока набережная не была вновь передана городу.

    Сейчас на площади возле кремлевской стены регулярно проходят различные концерты и соревнования. В теплое время года по очищенному каналу можно прокатиться на стильной лодочке, посмотреть на красивых лебедей, которые поселились по соседству или понаблюдать за рыбками, сидя на газоне.

  • Контакты
    г. Тула, Казанская набережная
0 событий

Интересные места рядом

Возможно вы захотите посетить эти объекты позже

Ко всем местам
Забронировать жилье