Monasteries and Churches

Dmitry Solunsky Church

ATTENTION! Due to the current epidemiological situation changes in the work schedule are possible! Please make sure to check the operating hours of the objects by contacting them in advance!
  • Description
    Add to tour

    When walking and making tourist trips around Tula Region, one never knows where something unusual and out-of-ordinary may be met. However, it is safe to say that there are many such places in the region but their addresses are not always located near well-trodden tourist routes!

    One of these places is the Church of Demetrius of Thessaloniki. Its architectural solutions are clear, concise, and brilliant! Nothing superfluous but at the same time, it is harmonious and interesting! How incomparable these loggias covered by columns and this massive dome on a narrow strip of the so-called drum are.

    The Church of Demetrius of Thessaloniki has an interesting history. Before the construction of the stone church, there was a wooden one, which was rebuilt several times. It is also known that the structures of the old church were used in the construction of the new one.

    Finally, the local landowner Levshin decided to build the Church of Demetrius of Thessaloniki in stone. The church was built for almost 50 years because funds for the construction were allocated only by Levshin and poor parishioners.

    It is interesting that the name of the genius architect who built such beauty is unknown!

    In 1875, the church was consecrated. Services were held there and people came to pray from 13 neighboring villages.

    The Soviet government gave the Church of Demetrius of Thessaloniki to the ravages of time. It is impossible to view a photo of the temple in the 70s without tears. Levshin's tomb was destroyed and desecrated. It seemed that darkness and decay had irrevocably taken this holy place…

    The year 2012 came. A patron, once born in this region, went with his head into the restoration of the church. And in 2015, the church became one of the pearls of Tula Region. The walls, the dome, and the iconostasis were restored and a sculpture of the Mother of God appeared in the back landscaped courtyard!
  • Media
    Photo Gallery
    2 pictures
  • Prices
  • Contacts
    Pozhilino, Efremov District, Tula Region
  • Reviews
    User ratings
    5
    (0)
    4
    (0)
    3
    (0)
    2
    (0)
    1
    (0)
    Your rating
Pozhilino, Efremov District, Tula Region
events

Interesting locations nearby

All places
Select the place you want to visit
Restaurants
Entertainment
Accommodation
Book a room
Do you have a question?

info@visittula.com 8 (800) 301-71-71
Свяжитесь с нами
Ru / Eng
Монастыри и храмы

Церковь Дмитрия Солунского

ВНИМАНИЕ! В связи со сложившейся эпидемиологической ситуацией возможны изменения в режиме работы! Просьба заблаговременно уточнять по указанным контактным телефонам о возможности посещения объектов показа!
  • Описание
    Добавить в маршрут

    Гуляя и совершая туристические поездки по Тульской области, никогда не знаешь, где встретишь что-то необычное и выходящее из ряда вон. Однако можно с уверенностью сказать, что в регионе таких объектов множество, но не всегда их адреса находятся рядом с проторенными туристическими маршрутами!

    Одним из таких мест является Церковь святого Дмитрия Солунского. Его архитектурные решения чётки, кратки и гениальны! Ничего лишнего, но в то же время гармонично и интересно! Как бесподобны эти лоджии, прикрываемые колоннами, этот массивный купол на узкой полоске так называемого барабана.

    Церковь Святого Дмитрия Солунского имеет интересную историю. До возведения каменного храма здесь находился деревянный, перестраивавшийся несколько раз. Известно и то, что конструкции старого храма использовались при строительстве нового.

    И вот местный помещик Лёвшин решает церковь Дмитрия Солунского воздвигнуть в камне. Церковь строилась почти 50 лет, т.к. средства на возведение выделялись только Лёвшиным и небогатыми прихожанами.

    Интересно, что имя гениального архитектора, построившего такую красоту, неизвестно!

    В 1875 году храм освещается. В нём проходят богослужения, люди приходят молиться сюда из 13-ти соседних деревень.

    Советская власть отдала церковь Дмитрия Солунского на растерзание времени. Невозможно рассматривать без слёз фото храма в 70-х годах. Склеп Лёвшиных был разрушен и осквернён. Казалось, что тьма и тлен безвозвратно забрали это святое место…

    Пришёл 2012 год. Меценат, некогда рождённый в этих краях, уходит с головой в восстановление церкви. И вот в 2015 году храм становится одной из жемчужин Тульской области. Восстанавливаются стены, купол, иконостас, на заднем благоустроенном дворике появляется скульптура Богородицы!

  • Медиа
    Фотогалерея
    2 изображения
  • Цена
  • Контакты
    Тульская область, Ефремовский район, с. Пожилино
  • Отзывы
    Рейтинг пользователей
    5
    (0)
    4
    (0)
    3
    (0)
    2
    (0)
    1
    (0)
    Ваша оценка
Тульская область, Ефремовский район, с. Пожилино
событий

Интересные места рядом

Ко всем местам
Места
Рестораны
Развлечения
Размещение
Забронировать жилье